Opening Pandora’s Box in your thirties by Abigail George

Opening Pandora’s Box in your thirties

There’s a loss to the windswept
  day. The waves beautiful but I
wind01_400do not want to go into the water.
  Feel it against my skin. I’m afraid I might
Drown in all of that memory. That
sly work. I feel I might get tangled
Up in the seaweed and never come
up for air again. Perhaps I will hit
My head against driftwood and lose consciousness.
I remember you touching my face.
It was only a moment. Now it’s a
memory and there’s a loss to the day.

It’s you. It’s you. The light as if from
birthday candles are punishing. You’re
a man. Thunder. Wolf-like and unhappy.
I’m a woman. Lightning. In other words
an angel. But I am also unhappy. How
to solve this elegantly. I wanted to hide
from the world. (In other words,) from
you. You’re poetry. Poetry. I say this
as if I have never experienced
Tigers of lust, pleasure, the suffering
Of pain. I loved you. Even though you were
Cold to me afterwards. I like to remember that.
You’re with another now. She’s more
woman. Less girl.

 ***********************************************************************
Abigail George has two books in the Ovi Bookshelves,
“All about my mother” & “Brother Wolf and Sister Wren”
Download them, NOW for FREE HERE!

 life_06_400

Leave a comment

Filed under ovi magazine, poetry

Leave a Reply

