If you were mine by Abigail George

If you were mine
(for my paternal grandparents)

ol01_400_01Perhaps this is how
       my grandparents met. Perhaps, this too,
was their love song.

So, I say your name.
Mikale – but for the life of me you can’t
understand why I’m

reaching out to you like this. Why I
find you interesting (and sensitive).
Your face and hands,

wise, interesting (and sensitive)
inside your leather jacket. In your presence, I’m tongue-tied. Don’t
know what to say.

So, I talk about
everything and nothing at the same time. I think about
the fact that I don’t swim anymore.

I think about the fact
that you’re a man, who lives and builds and breathes and eats
with the desire of a man.

***********************************************************************
Abigail George has two books in the Ovi Bookshelves,
“All about my mother” & “Brother Wolf and Sister Wren”
Download them, NOW for FREE HERE!

 life_06_400

Leave a comment

Filed under ovi magazine, poetry

Leave a Reply

