Something from the past by Katerina Charisi

I’m getting old. I’m getting old and I feel my doors shut one by one. Yesterday I met with my childhood’s best friend, thirty years after, and I gave her my hand to shake. All I was willing to give her was a handshake! Do you get it?

mortal01_400We used to wear each other’s clothes, spent weekends together, chatting and dreaming until someone would ask us to be quiet. We shared the same lukewarm beer when we went to the beach in summer nights to meet with the boys. We even shared the same boyfriend once! I had asked her to kiss my boyfriend and tell me if he was a good kisser. All true.

And now, I gave her my hand to shake. Like she was just another neighbour I accidentally met downtown. I didn’t ask her to have a coffee with me and catch up. She didn’t ask my number when she walked away. The moment just passed and lost forever, like any of those old times ever happened. Like the life we shared was another life, not ours.

Why did I have to see her again? Why do I remember all these things now?

*************************************************************************

Check Mortals of Megapolis I & II EBOOK
You can download them for FREE HERE!
life_77_400
***************************************************

Ovi magazine

 

Leave a comment

Filed under society

Leave a Reply

