Creat(ure)or by Gordana Mudri

In days of yore I’ve had a land
so full of divine beauty,
there was no need and no command
and joy was all my duty.

yore01_400Filled with peace were all my days,
in wonder I have gazed
at all that treasure, all that grace
and truly I was dazed.

Then creature came, in narrow trace
with skin as silver light,
beside my feet, she took the place
immovable and bright.

In silence, I’ve enjoyed my world,
my eyes at flowers’ charm,
as friendly being, she still was curled,
her presence brought no harm.

– Take, she said, her voice was sweet,
I shuddered of its grace
but sudden fear and sudden heat
just kept me on my place.

– Why? I asked wide open eyes,
too small to understand.
– Because you can, the answer was,
and I’ve just reached with hand.

The sudden feel, which grabbed my brain,
I’ve never felt before
but strange desire then rushed amain
and I’ve just whispered: more.

Possessed by thrill, my mind was blurred,
when golden fruit I’ve seen,
then whisper from the ground I’ve heard,
the sound was quite serene.

– Eat, she said with gentle voice,
and pleasure shook my core
but heartbeat made a sudden noise
and I felt like before.

– Why? I asked avoiding blame,
too young to understand.
– Because you can, the answer came
and I’ve just reached with hand.

The taste so sweet, which caused my shout,
I’ve never felt before,
but in my mind, there was no doubt,
and I’ve just whispered: more.

Against the grain, my need has grown,
I’ve walked in flames of pain
along the stream so fresh and known,
this creature as my chain.

– Drink, she said, her voice was calm
and I forgot the dread,
just drop of sweat slid down my palm
as flowing sign of threat.

– Why? I asked, trapped in my cage,
to weak to understand.
– Because you can, I felt slight rage
and I’ve just reached with hand.

A great relief, which washed my flesh,
I’ve never felt before.
I’ve stood as caught up in the mesh
and I’ve just whispered: more.

As in the trance, I took my path,
along the herd of lambs,
insensitive to fear or wrath,
oblivious to scams.

– Kill, she said with heartless hiss,
I’ve frozen of its sound,
but  I allowed a lethal kiss
as dug into the ground.

– Why? I asked, my brain so meek,
addicted to her cries.
– Because you can, I’ve heard a shriek
and I’ve just closed my eyes.

Delightful call of endless might
I’ve never felt before.
I’ve dived into oncoming night
and I’ve just whispered: more.

Drawn into a deadly game
I’ve played my humble role.
I’ve felt no guilt, I had no shame
the creature kept control.

The blood has poisoned all my streams
and all my fruits were dried.
The flowers stayed just bygone dreams,
my entire world has died.

I’ve walked along this deadly track
with nothing to adore.
I said, I must convert it back
to what it was before.

– It cannot be, she sneered at me
wrapped around my spine.
In fatal fear, I could have seen
all ghosts that stood in line.

– Why? I asked, prepared to fight
but I’ve foreseen the truth.
– Because you can’t, I felt the bite
and learned the final sooth.

The endless pain, which took my breath,
I’ve never felt before.
My final scream was shut by death,
too late I said: no more!

In days of yore I’ve had a land
so full of divine beauty,
there was no need and no command
but I’ve betrayed my duty.

***************************************************

Ovi magazine

Leave a comment

Filed under poetry

Leave a Reply

