Human by Nikos Laios

Human

I should like to draw
The curtains and imagine
The clouds scrolling across the sky
And playing on the earth
Like shadow theatre.

img_1905_the_feasting_gods_400I should like to pour a tea
With two lumps of sugar
And stir in slow deliberate
Circles, staring at a print
Of Michelangelo.

I should like to play
A record of Joan Baez
And think about
Woodstock, the lost
Revolutionaries and
The marching
Feet that march
No more.

I should like to
Be a fly on the wall
Staring at the fat
Chain smoking shoppers
Staring at their social
Media pages on their
Mobile phones with scowling faces
As they line up in their western supermarkets
With their overflowing shopping baskets.

I should like to walk
In a crowded mall
On a Saturday morning
Searching for the soul
Of the world amongst the
Blank and empty faces.

I should like to feel
Again and be part of
Something bigger than myself,
I should like to feel human again
And connect with the world around me.

***************************************************

With a digital drawing from Nikos Laios

***************************************************

Ovi magazine

Leave a comment

Filed under ovi magazine, poetry

Leave a Reply

