Ahern to resign

Irish Prime Minister Bertie Ahern has announced he is to resign on 6 May. Mr. Ahern, 56, has been taoiseach since June 1997 and has been a member of the Irish Parliament for 31 years.

 

The announcement comes a day after Mr. Ahern began a court challenge to limit the work of a public inquiry probing planning corruption in the 1990s. The tribunal is probing Mr. Ahern’s personal finances. Mr. Ahern has been leader of Fianna Fáil since 1994 and heads the coalition government.

Mr. Ahern told a news conference he would tender his resignation as both taoiseach and Fianna Fáil leader on 6 May. He said: “The priority I put above all others was to work for peace on this island, and I have given all to that cause.”I know in my heart of hearts I have done no wrong and wronged no-one. “My decision is motivated by what is best for the people. It is a personal decision. “I will not allow issues related to my own person to dominate the people and the body politic.”

Another victim of rumors or his own corrupted will? I suppose is up to the courts to clear the truth now.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under politics

Leave a Reply

